We need help getting enough donations to pay the monthly server bill. Click the thermometer to learn more.
Note: clicking on the above banners and making ANY purchase returns a commission to Turker Nation.
If you can't see the ad, please click on Shop on Amazon instead. | Want to advertise here? PM Spamgirl to learn more!

Thread: How to start? Advise on designing good HITs / Setting Price

How to start? Advise on designing good HITs / Setting Price

Hi, I am new to mTurk. I have a website data annotation task. Basically, workers are expected to tag/annotate product attributes like Price, Color, Product Title in a given webpage. Each HIT task will be a question to the workers to highlight one product attribute, (e-g Can you identify and highlight product price in this page). Workers are expected to find the product attribute (e-g price) in that page and double click that element. I have few questions

1. What will be the right price for this type task?
    2. How to collect feedback on this task? How Do I start before I posting thousands of hit task?
    3. How I can validate whether the workers selected right answer in this case.

Note: My Task uses an external web application rendering the product pages (External Question Type).

Thanks
    Thanked 2,439 Times in 1,018 Posts

HI sdscience1, thanks for posting.

Quote Originally Posted by sdscience1 View Post
    1. What will be the right price for this type task?
    This is a difficult one to determine without trying the task first. In general, you want to aim for $0.20/minute of work. Of course with micro-task, this can be tough to determine. It sounds like this should pay around 4 cents.

2. How to collect feedback on this task? How Do I start before I posting thousands of hit task?