We typically are NOT getting enough donations to pay the monthly server bill. We need your help! Click the thermometer to learn more.
Note: clicking on the above banners and making ANY purchase returns a commission to Turker Nation.
If you can't see the ad, please click on Shop on Amazon instead. | Want to advertise here? PM Spamgirl to learn more!

Thread: Feedback on HIT wording and pricing

Requester
    Thanks

Feedback on HIT wording and pricing

Hi, I'm an artist working with artificial intelligence, and I'm hoping to use Mechanical Turk to generate content for an upcoming piece. I posted my first HIT a couple days ago, and I was disappointed with the results. I'm hoping to get feedback from the community in order improve my HIT.

My goal is to have turkers describe the movements of performers in a video of a dance performance. I'm looking for basic, simple descriptions like "dancer 1 opens her arms and steps to the left. She runs in a circle and stops." Here is the description of the task I used:

Watch a three minute video of a dance performance, and describe the movements you see.

Use simple, clear words.
    As a rule of thumb, you should use at least 300 words, but not more than 500.
    Do not worry about getting every detail, or describing everything that is hapenning. It is enough to focus on one or two dancers at a time.
    Indicate different dancers with "dancer 1" or "dancer 2".
    I wanted to keep it simple, but I think this was too vague. The responses I got were... abstract, and described everything but the actual, simple, physical movements. I accepted the answers anyway, because I figure it was my fault in the wording of the task.

Do you think it would be sufficient to add something like "Describe the physical movements of the performers in simple, clear terms. For example: 'dancer 1 opens her arms and take three steps to her left.'"? Or do I need to rework the task's wording more heavily?