We need your help to make sure Turker Nation stays online. Please click the thermometer to learn more.
Note: clicking on the above banners and making ANY purchase returns a commission to Turker Nation.
If you can't see the ad, please click on Shop on Amazon instead. | Want to advertise here? PM Spamgirl to learn more!



Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Workaround to Avoid 40% Amazon #mturk fees - Non-API Survey Requesters (full instructions for GUI!)

  1. #31
    Requester
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi! Thanks so much for this, it's extremely helpful. I'm an academic researcher, and I've been an MT requester for years, but have never tried to use this workaround, so please excuse this probably very basic two-part question. In the past I've recruited workers with certain characteristics relevant to my research in order to get larger samples with the chracteristics of interest. In these specialized HITs, I ask requesters to search for and participate through other HITs linking to the same survey if they don't have the characteristic of interest (e.g., recruitng the control group through a different HIT). I'd like to do this again, using the workaround code to set up each of the HITs. It seems like I can just use the same unique turker code for each of the HITs to ensure that workers can only do one of the HITs, one time (of course making this very clear to workers in the instructions). My first question is, do I use the same .CSV file for each of the HITs? That is, if I want 100 workers split between 5 HITs, should I use the same .CSV file with the link pasted 100 times in each HIT? Or do I create five separate .CSV file with the same link pasted 25 times?

    Secondly, when I hit "Publish batch" on a HIT set up according to the super helpful instructions provided in this thread, I don't get a dialogue box asking me to upload a .CSV file at any stage before the final "publish." Did I mess up the code somehow?

    Thank you SO MUCH for your help!
    Hana

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Hana For This Useful Post:


  3. #32
    Community Manager spamgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,840
    Thanks
    2,440
    Thanked 6,276 Times in 2,040 Posts

    @RippedWarrior can you answer these questions?
    It's all good.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to spamgirl For This Useful Post:


  5. #33
    *** SuperShopper *** RippedWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    1,469
    Thanked 2,232 Times in 949 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Hana View Post
    Hi! Thanks so much for this, it's extremely helpful. I'm an academic researcher, and I've been an MT requester for years, but have never tried to use this workaround, so please excuse this probably very basic two-part question. In the past I've recruited workers with certain characteristics relevant to my research in order to get larger samples with the chracteristics of interest. In these specialized HITs, I ask requesters to search for and participate through other HITs linking to the same survey if they don't have the characteristic of interest (e.g., recruitng the control group through a different HIT). I'd like to do this again, using the workaround code to set up each of the HITs. It seems like I can just use the same unique turker code for each of the HITs to ensure that workers can only do one of the HITs, one time (of course making this very clear to workers in the instructions). My first question is, do I use the same .CSV file for each of the HITs? That is, if I want 100 workers split between 5 HITs, should I use the same .CSV file with the link pasted 100 times in each HIT? Or do I create five separate .CSV file with the same link pasted 25 times?
    1. Yes, use the same UniqueTurker code across all 5 HITs. This will prevent workers from accepting more than 1 HIT that contains the same code. Please note there are some workers who can intentionally bypass Unique Turker, so be sure to also do a manual verification.

    2. Every row in the CSV file will create an assignment for that HIT. So for example, if you want 100 HITs total spread across 5 different HITs, your CSV file should contain 20 rows (plus the header). EDIT: yes, if the links are the same you can use the same CSV for all 5 HITs.


    Quote Originally Posted by Hana View Post
    Secondly, when I hit "Publish batch" on a HIT set up according to the super helpful instructions provided in this thread, I don't get a dialogue box asking me to upload a .CSV file at any stage before the final "publish." Did I mess up the code somehow?

    Thank you SO MUCH for your help!
    Hana
    When publishing the HIT, it will prompt you for a CSV upload if there is a variable in the HIT. The variable must match the header (cell A1) in the CSV file. So, if you put "link" as the header in the CSV, the HIT will need a variable "${link}". Note this is case-sensitive. For example, you could put this in your HIT:

    Please access the survey at the following link: ${link}

    Hope this answers your questions!

    EDIT: Another trick I use to help workers complete only 1 HIT from a group of HITS: Put a very unique descriptor in the HIT title. For example, in my last set like this I made the HIT Title "Borealis: A Multi-Party Study". Then in the HIT instructions, I (in bold) instructed workers not to complete more than 1 HIT with "Borealis" in the title. Make the word something memorable and/or unique that workers are likely to remember. "Oh yeah, I already did a HIT with "Purple Pizza" in the title"
    Eschew obfuscation, espouse elucidation. Batch HITs for newbs. 1000 req'd. 5000 req'd.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to RippedWarrior For This Useful Post:


  7. #34
    Requester
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by RippedWarrior View Post

    When publishing the HIT, it will prompt you for a CSV upload if there is a variable in the HIT. The variable must match the header (cell A1) in the CSV file. So, if you put "link" as the header in the CSV, the HIT will need a variable "${link}". Note this is case-sensitive. For example, you could put this in your HIT:

    Please access the survey at the following link: ${link}
    Thanks so much for this! One quick question...I'm having trouble figuring out where to include the variable. This is what the source code for the link looks like now. Can you help me figure out where the ${link} should go?


    <p><strong style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px;">Link to the survey:&nbsp;</strong><a href="[SURVEY_LINK.com]" style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);" target="_blank">[SURVEY_LINK.com]</a></p>

    Thanks so much!
    Hana

  8. #35
    *** SuperShopper *** RippedWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    1,469
    Thanked 2,232 Times in 949 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Hana View Post
    Thanks so much for this! One quick question...I'm having trouble figuring out where to include the variable. This is what the source code for the link looks like now. Can you help me figure out where the ${link} should go?


    <p><strong style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px;">Link to the survey:*</strong><a href="[SURVEY_LINK.com]" style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);" target="_blank">[SURVEY_LINK.com]</a></p>

    Thanks so much!
    Hana
    For your purposes, the variable could be anything. It does not have to be the survey link. I might be easier (to ensure you have a proper href) to leave the survey link in the HIT (instead of in the csv), and simply replace another word. Since your survey links are identical for every HIT, it's not important that it be in the CSV. Hope this makes sense!

    Here are 2 examples.

    1. Example 1: Leave the survey link in the HIT, and use the CSV simply to generate the correct number of assignments. In this case, your CSV will have a header of "survey" (without quotation marks) and every row will have the word "survey". Basically, the variable in the HIT will be replaced with the corresponding entry in the CSV.

    <p><strong style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px;">Link to the ${survey}: </strong><a href="[SURVEY_LINK.com]" style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);" target="_blank">[SURVEY_LINK.com]</a></p>

    Example 2: Use the CSV to replace the survey link. In this scenario, put your header (variable) in the first row, and the survey link in all the other rows.

    <p><strong style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px;">Link to the survey: ${link} style="font-size: 11.7px; line-height: 20.8px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);" target="_blank">[SURVEY_LINK.com]</a></p>
    Eschew obfuscation, espouse elucidation. Batch HITs for newbs. 1000 req'd. 5000 req'd.

  9. #36
    Does anyone know why it takes so long to complete a survey when we bunch up the HITs to save some money rather than just posting our HIT as one and paying the high fees. It seems like it is always the last few people that take the longest time to complete. Is there any way around this?

  10. #37
    *** SuperShopper *** RippedWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    1,469
    Thanked 2,232 Times in 949 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by bryanchiaws View Post
    Does anyone know why it takes so long to complete a survey when we bunch up the HITs to save some money rather than just posting our HIT as one and paying the high fees. It seems like it is always the last few people that take the longest time to complete. Is there any way around this?
    Obviously I can't speak to your experiences publishing HITs with different methods, but I can offer the following:

    - Either way does not affect the way workers see your HITs.
    - Workers can accept up to 25 HITs at one time. If you set a long timer on your HIT (say 2 hours) it's not unusual for a worker to accept the HIT, but not actually work on it until it's nearing expiry. So the worker may accept the HIT but not actually complete it for an hour-and-a-half after they accept it.

    Possible solution: set a shorter timer on the HIT. If they survey takes 10 minutes, set an expiry of 30 minutes.

    Not sure I properly understand the question.
    Eschew obfuscation, espouse elucidation. Batch HITs for newbs. 1000 req'd. 5000 req'd.

  11. #38
    Thanks for the slideshow. I'll bookmark it for future reference.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Victor Daniels For This Useful Post:


Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •