PDA

View Full Version : turking with smart phones

panyi42
03-28-2012, 10:26 AM
I'm new to mTurk. I have an brain intense job analyzing large amounts of data. I do have some downtime for brakes, planning to turk during the downtime. Since the internet access is restricted at work, I cannot do many hits. Thinking about investing in a smartphone. Wondering anybody's experience turking with smartphones? thanks

Rosengurtle
03-28-2012, 10:44 AM
The only hits I'll do on my android are the very simple ones where you have to choose a radio button and press enter. Any other hits would be too hard to navigate and I can't imagine trying to do a writing job on my phone.

librarian50
03-28-2012, 10:50 AM
I have done Two Lakes Research HITs on my Iphone. It was slower, of course, but a lot of fun.

Hollie - Closed
03-28-2012, 11:02 AM
I take surveys on my phone when I have a solid signal. I also do categorization tasks and anything where you just have to select choices.

revos
03-28-2012, 11:11 AM
It's a bit painful for me to do even the simplest tasks on a smartphone. Aside from the navigation issues, I have 3G on my phone and each page loads pretty slow. I usually just use my phone to check if my favorite requesters have posted work.

panyi42
03-28-2012, 11:14 AM
I know you can connect a smart phone to a keyboard, maybe some transcription job would be possible that way. But it sounds like navigating Mturk on a smart phone is the major issue. An ipad is just too expensive to invest for the downtime HITS at work!

geisharose
03-28-2012, 02:51 PM
I actually tried this the other day with my iPhone and I can tell you that it is no walk in the park. Maybe if you are doing a survey or something it might work, but the eye strain is no fun. Also, zooming in and out gets kind of annoying.

Mindylane
03-28-2012, 03:30 PM
Depending on your phone, it's just as if you're doing it on the computer. I do HITs on my phone all day.

panyi42
03-28-2012, 03:53 PM